Jonathan Livingston Seagull.

seagull.

My mom used to read this to me at the bus stop. My brother and I were in elementary school. We were bundled up, staring at the road. My mother would have the book tucked under her arm as we walked down the rocky path. This book may be responsible for why I myself became a teacher and went off to teach other “flocks” like Jonathan. This texts covers themes ranging from materialism, to conformity,  to forgiveness, to love and so many more.

Yes, I admit, the text is a bit corny and maybe a little overly positive… But, I think that’s what I enjoy most about it. Every line seems quotable to me and makes me want to keep working harder towards a better version of myself. I love how the last words of Jonathans teacher are, “Keep working on love.” Simple,  poignent, and universally understood.

Here is an excerpt from the text that hopefully will convince you to pick up this oldie but goodie. I guess I’m just on a self-help book kick these days, but I  know my mom would be happy to know I was revisiting any text from “the bus stop years.”

2 thoughts on “Jonathan Livingston Seagull.

  1. We must have very different taste in literature. My uncle recommended I read this many years ago and, though I had an absolute hunger for nearly everything with words in it, I simply couldn’t stomach this one. No surprise I don’t read self-help books, I suppose.

    • I think I posted this more out of nostalgia than anything. This does not reflect my current taste in literature, but maybe something that I would encourage my younger students to look at.

Leave a Reply

