Life In The Woods.

“You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Fools stand on their island of opportunities and look toward another land. There is no other land; there is no other life but this.”

walden.

As a girl with a Walt Whitman quote with her at all times, I believe in the power of existentialism in writing. I plan to spend this part of my life, the border between my mid twenties and thirties, revisiting Thoreau, Emerson, and Whitman. I feel like I found them in high school and the changed my view of the world. I think it’s important to look back on texts that were influential to us at different stages in our lives. This book will probably mean something completely different to me at 24 than it did at 16. Read the text online in its entirety using the link below.

Where I Lived, and What I Lived For. Walden, Chapter 2.

“I learned this, at least, by my experiment: that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”

One thought on “Life In The Woods.

  1. “Finish every day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be cumbered with your old nonsense. This day is all that is good and fair. It is too dear, with its hopes and invitations, to waste a moment on yesterdays.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson [my fave!]

Leave a Reply

